Tag Archives: Frank Ocean

Top 20 of 2012

Punch Brothers - Who's Feeling Young Now?

1. Punch Brothers – Who’s Feeling Young Now?
2. Japandroids – Celebration Rock 
3. Tropical Punk – Ends of the World 
4. John K. Samson – Provincial 
5. Flume – Flume
6. Frank Ocean – channel ORANGE 
7. Tame Impala – Lonerism 
8. Fiona Apple – The Idler Wheel…
9. Balmorhea – Stranger
10. The Mountain Goats – Transcendental Youth
11. Titus Andronicus – Local Business
12. Leonard Cohen – Old Ideas
13. The Men – Open Your Heart
14. The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter
15. Bob Dylan – Tempest
16. First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar
17. Miguel – Kaleidoscope Dream
18. Flying Lotus – Until the Quiet Comes
19. St. Lucia – St. Lucia EP
20. Yeasayer – Fragrant World

Honorable Mentions: People Get Ready, Grizzly Bear, Lucero, Black Moth Super Rainbow, The Tallest Man on Earth


Top 20 of 2012: 6. Frank Ocean – channel ORANGE

6. Frank Ocean – channel ORANGE

Frank Ocean - channel ORANGEFrank Ocean‘s excellent debut mixtape, nostalgia, ULTRA., caught the attention of Kanye West and Jay-Z, and honestly, he outshined them on his two Watch the Throne tracks.

So expectations were high for his debut studio album (and early singles “White,” “Pyramids” and “Sweet Life” raised them even higher), but Ocean unquestionably delivered. channel ORANGE featured guest spots from big names like André 3000, John Mayer, and fellow Odd Future members Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler, the Creator, but Ocean’s presence — in both his songwriting and singing — is so strong that you barely notice them.

Now, with several Grammy nominations, Ocean is contemplating not making any more albums. Although he just said it in passing and it’s hopefully not true, channel ORANGE would be an incredible standalone legacy.

Flying Lotus remixes Frank Ocean’s “Thinkin Bout You”

Flying LotusI try not to post many remixes, but this one is too good to resist. Production genius Flying Lotus — whose new album is going to blow minds — remixed Frank Ocean‘s “Thinkin Bout You.” FlyLo shared an unfinished version of his remix on SoundCloud, which was later taken down, under the title “binge eating without you.”

Ocean’s original version already takes weeks to get out of my head, but this high-pitched falsetto-sounding version somehow makes it even catchier.

Check out the remix below. Frank Ocean’s channel ORANGE is out now on Def Jam, and Flying Lotus’ Until the Quiet Comes is out October 2 on Warp.

Frank Ocean – “Sweet Life”

Frank Ocean - Sweet LifeFrank Ocean will be releasing his debut album, Channel Orange, next week. But before it’s out, he released another single from it, following “Pyramids.”

“Sweet Life,” which was co-written with Pharrell Williams, continues to push Ocean’s R&B. The intricate mix builds with jazzy electric piano and bass riffs before it hits the warm chorus of synthesized horns. It sounds so intensely classic that it’s hard to believe Ocean is only 24.

Channel Orange, which is definitely one of our most anticipated released of the summer, is out July 17 on Def Jam.

Frank Ocean – “Pyramids”

Frank Ocean - PyramidsFrank Ocean recently announced his debut album, Channel Orange. The singer’s EP Nostalgia, Ultra was delayed and never actually came out, so this will be his first physical release.

Ocean paired the announcement with the release of a new single, “Pyramids,” an epic 10-minute track. As you might expect with a song like that, it goes through some pretty drastic musical changes — almost sounding like two different songs — but Ocean never loses focus.

“Pyramids” isn’t the first epic Ocean’s done. Earlier this year, his seven-minute “American Wedding” used an unauthorized sample of “Hotel California” and caused some problems with the Eagles. But as far as we know, “Pyramids” is all legal.

Channel Orange comes out July 15 on Def Jam.

Frank Ocean – “Whip Appeal”

Frank OceanFrank Ocean dropped another new track this week, “Whip Appeal,” which is apparently from the scrapped physical release of Nostalgia, Lite.

“Whip Appeal” is all about expensive cars, and driving snares keep it going at a heavy pace. It’s definitely one of Ocean’s more hip-hop-focused tracks, but he still brings some sweet soul hooks in the chorus.

Frank Ocean – “White”

Frank OceanA new Frank Ocean track hit the Internet yesterday. “White” is Ocean’s only solo song on the upcoming Odd Future mixtape, OF Tape Vol. 2.

The two-minute “White” is a slow jam built mostly around Ocean and a soft keyboard, and he ends up sounding a lot like Stevie Wonder. I’m not a huge Odd Future fan, but this guy is way too talented to ignore.

Edit: The file I had originally linked to appears to be down, but you can still stream the song at Consequence of Sound.

Also, take a listen to Ocean’s Eagles-sampling, lawsuit-inducing “American Wedding” (while you still can) after the jump. Continue reading