Tag Archives: Grizzly Bear

Top 20 of 2012

Punch Brothers - Who's Feeling Young Now?

1. Punch Brothers – Who’s Feeling Young Now?
2. Japandroids – Celebration Rock 
3. Tropical Punk – Ends of the World 
4. John K. Samson – Provincial 
5. Flume – Flume
6. Frank Ocean – channel ORANGE 
7. Tame Impala – Lonerism 
8. Fiona Apple – The Idler Wheel…
9. Balmorhea – Stranger
10. The Mountain Goats – Transcendental Youth
11. Titus Andronicus – Local Business
12. Leonard Cohen – Old Ideas
13. The Men – Open Your Heart
14. The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter
15. Bob Dylan – Tempest
16. First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar
17. Miguel – Kaleidoscope Dream
18. Flying Lotus – Until the Quiet Comes
19. St. Lucia – St. Lucia EP
20. Yeasayer – Fragrant World

Honorable Mentions: People Get Ready, Grizzly Bear, Lucero, Black Moth Super Rainbow, The Tallest Man on Earth


Top 20 of 2012: Honorable Mentions

People Get Ready - People Get Ready LPPeople Get Ready – People Get Ready
Combining the experimental pop of Dirty Projectors with a slight lean toward Yeasayer‘s psych rock, People Get Ready’s debut album has everything I didn’t find on those two artists’ new releases (Yeasayer’s Fragrant World was a pleasant surprise, though). Steven Reker, once a guitarist/dancer for David Byrne, might have picked up a few things from the former Talking Heads frontman, but he takes it in a wonderfully unique direction.

Grizzly Bear - ShieldsGrizzly Bear – Shields
Grizzly Bear‘s latest album was a slow-burning beauty. While not as immediate as 2009’s “Two Weeks,” songs like “Yet Again” slowly creep into your subconscious (and subsequently into your best-of list). From singles like “Sleeping Ute” to the swirling “Speak in Rounds,” the band perfected their dark atmospheres on Shields.

Lucero - Women & WorkLucero – Women & Work
Lucero is no longer the country-punk band from a decade ago. 2009’s 1372 Overton Park saw some hints at horn-centered soul, a change completely cemented by Women & Work. Though the band has changed considerably, it’s hard to miss it much when they’re rocking through the album’s title track or the Van Morrison-styled “Like Lightning.”

Black Moth Super Rainbow - Cobra JuicyBlack Moth Super Rainbow – Cobra Juicy
Despite the bizarre lyrics and thick blanket of effects, Black Moth Super Rainbow‘s fifth album sounds deeply rooted in classic rock. Everything from the big riffs of “Windshield Smasher” and “Hairspray Heart” to the pedal steel of “Psychic Love Damage” recall ’70s rock, but it’s still plenty weird. “Dreamsicle Bomb” is a synth explosion, “Gangs in the Garden” is a strange dance party that only Black Moth Super Rainbow could create.

The Tallest Man on Earth - There's No Leaving NowThe Tallest Man on Earth – There’s No Leaving Now
Kristian Matsson first caught our attention with 2010’s The Wild HuntWhile it might not top his sophomore album, There’s No Leaving Now — his third record as the Tallest Man on Earth — completely recaptures our attention and imagination. Matsson’s stark acoustic songs are as beautiful as ever.

Grizzly Bear – “Yet Again”

Grizzly Bear - Yet AgainGrizzly Bear has released another single off their upcoming third album, Shields. The album’s opening single, “Sleeping Ute,” was a gorgeous baroque piece, but the newest song, “Yet Again,” is vastly different.

The guitar-heavy “Yet Again” picks up the pace with a driving rhythm. Singer Ed Droste still coos beautifully, until the song devolves into chaotic feedback and distortion.

Even with faster speeds and heavier sounds, Grizzly Bear sounds as elegant as ever on “Yet Again.”

Shields is out September 18 via Warp.

Grizzly Bear – “Sleeping Ute”

Grizzly Bear Sleeping Ute 2012Brookyln-based indie rock band Grizzly Bear recently set Sept. 18 as the release date of their fourth studio, so far unnamed. And along with the announcement, we’re given a pleasant preview, “Sleeping Ute,” a song following in the footsteps of their 2009 album, Veckatimest.

Whenever listening to Grizzly Bear, there’s a sense of epic-ness, but not in a grandiose, orchestral way. “Sleeping Ute” is complex, involving difficult time signatures and a mix of vocals, electronics, drums and guitars that requires active listening. At the 3:10 mark, the song slips into a calm flurry, and then singer Edward Droste’s voice becomes more vulnerable as the guitar picks beside him. The whole thing sounds like a soundtrack to a desert dream.

We think “Sleeping Ute” is an excellent piece of music and can’t wait for the album. Listen below (a few times, so you can get the full effect) and tell us your opinion.