Tag Archives: Vinyl

Ty Segall’s Fuzz – “This Time I Got a Reason” & “Fuzz’s Fourth Dream”

Fuzz - This Time I Got a ReasonAs if putting out three great albums in one year wasn’t enough, Ty Segall has formed another new band. The ambitious performer is joined by Ty Segall Band guitarist Charlie Moothart in the appropriately titled Fuzz.

The group’s debut 7″, “This Time I Got a Reason” b/w “Fuzz’s Fourth Dream” on Trouble in Mind Records, is already sold out, but you can stream both cuts below.


Prince Sunarawma – “Irene”

Prince Sunarawma - IreneLast year, while Prince Rama and Sun Araw were taking shelter from Hurricane Irene in Bed-Stuy, they decided to make a song together.

The track, aptly titled “Irene,” is almost 20-minute jam recorded to an answering machine, so it’s definitely lo-fi. Sun Araw’s Cameron Stallones adds his acid-soaked guitar to Prince Rama’s tribal djembe beat.

Check out the song below. Atelier Ciseaux will release “Irene” on 12″ vinyl on September 10.

Les Sins – “Fetch” and “Taken”

Les Sins - Fetch b/w TakenToro Y Moi is putting out a new single under the name Les Sins. The rising electronic artist, whose real name is Chazwick Bundick, is releasing his latest 7″ on Jiaolong — run by Caribou’s Dan Snaith.

Check out the both sides of the single below. “Fetch”/”Taken” is out later this month.

Dirty Projectors – “Buckle Up”

Dirty Projectors - Buckle UpDirty Projectors are currently touring in support of their recently released sixth album, Swing Lo Magellan, and they have a new tour-only single available exclusively at their shows. Because the single is so limited, the band is tweeting a password before each show, and the first fans that bring the password to the merch table can get their hands on one.

If you’re not lucky enough to be seeing Dirty Projectors on tour, there’s always the Internet. You can stream the A-side, “Buckle Up,” now, and hopefully, its B-side, “Desire to Love,” will be available shortly.

Tropical Punk – Runaway American Kids

Tropical Punk - Runaway American Kids - DesertTropical Punk is getting ready to release the follow up to their awesome debut LP, Ends of the World. Their new recording project, Runaway American Kids, is split into three 7″ EPs. The Nashville band is pressing up 250 copies of the first EP on red vinyl, to be released this summer.

Recorded at the band’s house, the first EP finds the band looking outside the basements and parties of their debut album.

They kick it off with the spaghetti-western instrumental “Summer Heat (part 1).” The massive guitar sounds like a single Sonic Youth riff echoing dark and mysterious in the desert night. As the riff fades out, the music picks back up with the pure summertime rock ‘n’ roll of “That Night.”

The second half of the album finds the band slowing down and pushing its boundaries. “Dreams Out West” mellows out, floating on the bassline, but maintains a certain grit in the jagged strums and reverb. In the final track, singer Zach Puls nails the lonesome vocals, making “On the Run” into a classic country song.

The first Runaway American Kids EP is out August 27 on Denim Records. Stream or download it below and pre-order it on Tropical Punk’s Bandcamp.

Iron & Wine – “One More Try” b/w “Trouble”

Iron & Wine - One More Try (George Michael cover)Iron & Wine‘s Sam Beam has been known to do some interesting covers. He might be best known for his rendition of the Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights,” but he’s also reworked The Flaming Lips, New Order and Stereolab, among others.

Iron & Wine - Trouble (Little Feat cover)Beam and his full band recently stopped in to the A.V. Club Undercover to record an orchestral arrangement of George Michael’s “One More Try.” Suicide Squeeze is releasing it on a limited edition 7″, with a cover of Little Feat’s “Trouble” on the b-side.

“Trouble” has a bit more of a dirt-road country feel, but the clarinet ties it together with “One More Try.”

Listen to both sides of the single below. The vinyl is limited to 750 copies, and the pre-order is already sold out, but some copies will be available in local record stores on June 26.

Side A: “One More Try” (George Michael cover)

Side B: “Trouble” (Little Feat cover)

Superchunk – “This Summer”

Superchunk - This SummerSuperchunk released a new single yesterday, their first new output since 2010’s excellent Majesty Shredding.

“This Summer” opens with handclaps, guitars and Mac McCaughan’s trademark high vocals. As it bops along, the rest of the band comes in, and it culminates with an intense guitar solo. It’s classic Superchunk.

The limited edition 7″ keeps things seasonal with a b-side cover of Bananarama’s “Cruel Summer.” It’s also available digitally, but the hot-white vinyl (limited to 13oo copies) comes with a bonus download of an acoustic version of “This Summer.” The single is out now on Merge.